Haiku Perfume Reviews: Histoires de Parfums’ Petroleum / 1969 / Moulin Rouge 1889

hdpimg_preface-library

Photo sourced from HdP US Website: http://www.histoiresdeparfums.com/us/histoiresdeparfums/preface.php Copyright Histoires de Parfums.

Introduction to Histoires de Parfums Reviews

Last year in my Facebook perfume appreciation group some of the members took part in a perfume review challenge. In this group task, we each chose a fragrance house that we wanted to become more familiar with, and wrote a review on a different scent from that house, every day for seven days. I chose to review seven fragrances by the French company Histoires de Parfums. A few months ago I shared four of these reviews with you at Perfume Polytechnic (scroll to the bottom for links to these reviews). Today I’m sharing with you the remaining reviews, a series of three haiku poems. At the time of the perfume review challenge I was a little burnt out after a few days from the “review a day” concept, so I tried to come up with a novel, concise way of reviewing my remaining three fragrances!

While I don’t claim to be a poet, I wanted to convey a sense of the remaining three perfumes without resorting to long sentences, anecdotes and similes. So… here you have the final three reviews in my Histoires de Parfums Perfume Week Review Challenge. I’ve presented the haiku for each fragrance first, followed by the fragrance notes for each one.

Petroleum (Edition Rare)

hsphirsch-555463_640

Car oil, not petrol —
Trees ooze sap, dark earth, dry, cool;
I glimpse a musk stag.

Fragrance Notes:

Top Notes: Oud, Bergamot, Aldehydes / Heart Notes: Rose, Oud, Amber / Base Notes: Oud, Civet Absolute, Leather, Patchouli, White Musk.

1969

hdppeach-574622_640

Among ripe peach trees
Orange sun, I sit eating
Musk rose chocolates.

Fragrance Notes:

Top Notes: Fruit of the Sun, Peach / Heart Notes: Rose, White Flowers, Cardamom, Clove / Base Notes: Patchouli, Chocolate, Coffee, White Musk.

Moulin Rouge 1889

hdpmoulin-rouge-286567_640

Legs, flesh, silk, feathers
Powder puffs and grease paint — lights!
Lipstick kiss: salut!

Fragrance Notes:

Top Notes: Tangerine, Prune, Cinnamon / Heart Notes: Absinthe, Rose of Damas / Base Notes: Iris, Patchouli, Musk, Fur.


If you’d like to read my other four reviews from the HdP line, click on the following links. They also include some background info on the perfume house.

Tubereuse 1: Capricieuse

Tubereuse 3: Animale

1740 Marquis de Sade

Olympia

What’s your favourite Histoires de Parfums fragrance? Tell me in the comments section below!

8 thoughts on “Haiku Perfume Reviews: Histoires de Parfums’ Petroleum / 1969 / Moulin Rouge 1889

  1. I like the format and I’m not sure I get more from longer descriptions.

    Histoires de Parfums isn’t “my” brand: I don’t dislike their perfumes I just never tried any I was compelled to wear. But I’ll keep trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Undina, nice to hear that you liked the haiku format. It certainly is a good way to convey impressions quickly! I’m the opposite with HdP, I love their stuff with a passion. Wish it was cheaper!

      Like

Leave a Reply

